It is a known fact that your body needs the right combination of nutrients so that it can energize you and keep you going through each day. However, if you choose to ignore this fact and eat all the wrong types of food that will cause great harm, then you will be the sufferer in the long run. For instance, did you know that having food with excess gluten is the primary cause for celiac disease?
What is gluten free diet? A gluten-free diet is a diet that strictly excludes gluten, a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye, oat, and all their species and hybrids. The inclusion of oats in a gluten-free diet remains controversial.
One of the largest problems of those that are changing to a gluten free diet is can I live gluten free with the lack of foods that they really enjoy. Changing from a diet full of cereals, breads, and other foods containing gluten to safe foods can be extremely challenging and disheartening. One key point to keep in mind is that you don’t always have to succumb to the standard gluten free food choices that many people settle for.
Over time, chefs and those that have changed to this type of diet have evolved variations of the forbidden ingredients that taste so similar you would never know it was without gluten. Popular food choices such as sweet corn bread, Spanish rice, and even buttermilk pancakes are no longer off limits because of the advances in the ingredients available. By not focusing on the gluten free foods you can’t have, it becomes much easier to transition to the diet without setbacks and failures. Just like any other diet, the first month or two can be difficult if you aren’t used to eating these types of foods, however much like other habits you build up, it becomes much easier the longer you eat the new foods in the diet.
If you were under the impression that you would need to change everything you’ve ever known to succumb to this specific diet, you should understand that this is definitely not the case. You now have choices if you choose to be gluten free, and these choices will allow you to transition as easily as possible. In order to avoid such a condition, you should go on a gluten free diet by minimizing the intake of wheat, bread, and rye. It is said that vegetables like peas, onions, broccoli, parsley, eggplant, spinach, green beans, and lettuce don’t contain any gluten. The same can be said for raspberries, strawberries, cherries, apricot, figs, dates, oranges, and mangoes. Meat and poultry can also be classified as gluten free products. In case you are fond of dairy products, then try to avoid bleu cheese as it contains gluten.